## Community

## **News from the European Optical Society**

DOI 10.1515/aot-2015-0018

## LIGHT2015 Awards for Young Photonics Experts



The European Optical Society is one of the partners for LIGHT2015 project, an outreach and education initiative promoting the importance of photonics to young people, entrepreneurs, and the general public in Europe during the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies (IYL 2015).

The technical and innovative contributions from entrepreneurs, as well as the contributions from female scientists are celebrated as part of the project. Two awards will be presented to young photonics experts:

The LIGHT2015 Young Photonics Entrepreneur Award to honour an individual who has made outstanding technical and/or innovative contributions to the photonics industry

The LIGHT2015 Young Women in Photonics Award to honour a young female scientist who has made outstanding contributions to photonics

The awards are launched to highlight the significance of photonics in industry and the contributions of female scientists to this diverse field of science. Both awards consist of a diploma and an honorarium of €2500. Any young entrepreneur or female scientist under the age of 37, active in the field of photonics may apply for the award.

The awards will be presented at the World of Photonics Congress in Munich, Germany, which will be held on 21–25 June, 2015. A special LIGHT2015 networking event will also take place at the congress, bringing together students and the communities of science and industry.

More information on the Awards and the LIGHT2015 project can be found from

- Internet: www.europe.light2015.org
- Facebook: www.facebook.com/Light2015Europe
- Twitter: twitter.com/Light2015Europe

The LIGHT2015 project is coordinated by the European Physical Society (EPS) in collaboration with the Institute of Photonics Sciences (ICFO) from Spain, the Politecnico di Milano (POLIMI) from Italy, the National University of Ireland Galway from Ireland, Universiteit Leiden from the Netherlands, EYESTvzw from Belgium, and the European Optical Society (EOS).

Jyrki Saarinen EOS Executive Director

Elina Koistinen LIGHT2015 Coordinator at EOS